Menu

Reviews

 

 and click here to post your own review

Vacation rentals  *   Weddings & Festivities  *  Retreats  *  Filming

Vacation rentals

Abby M., San Francisco, CA - AirBnB, Dec 5, 2017 ..................... Nothing but glowing words ...
 This place is 100% magic. I rented to celebrate my birthday with friends and we were blown away by Michael and Vivien’s hospitality — no stone left unturned, especially if you are considering for a special event (special doesn’t begin to describe if you choose this as your location!!). Cannot say enough good things. I must say that your home far exceeded our expectations. I cannot tell you how many times my friends would run up to me out of the blue and say how they felt as if they were in a dream! And I completely agree. You were beyond helpful with getting us up and running for Saturday night’s soirée, which was a huge hit. Thank you a million times over for your hospitality and flexibility — I having nothing but glowing words for your piece of Pt. Reyes paradise.
Sarah S., Santa Monica, CA - TripAdvisor, Nov 27, 2017 ....... Perfect Thanksgiving in Marshall, CA
We just returned from a fabulous four days at Straus Family Ranch. Our San Francisco daughter is expecting and could not travel far, so this location seemed like a perfect locale for the family to gather to celebrate Thanksgiving, a two year old’s birthday and the imminent birth of a new grandchild. The beautiful farmhouse was perfect for the eight of us who stayed there – charming and cozy decor, very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and very responsive hosts who answered every question promptly. There was plenty of room around the dining table for four additional family members who joined us just for the feast. The yard provided a fantastic sports field for the little ones to burn off steam, and the adults so enjoyed the outdoor seating area and beautiful evening lights. We loved the sense of Straus family history in this very special place, and are delighted to have been able to add it to our own family history.
 Julia B., Berkeley, CA - Google Reviews, Nov 9, 2017 ....................... Views of Tomales Bay
This beautiful and historic farmhouse with views of Tomales Bay was the ideal getaway for my friends and I. Everything was perfectly prepared and our host went above and beyond to make sure we settled in and had everything we needed. While having coffee at the gorgeous handcrafted kitchen table I noticed out the window that the cows came by to say good morning. Hikes, beaches, kayaking, and delicious oysters and mixed drinks are all possibilities when you plan your days using the Straus Home Ranch as your launch pad, or stay put and cozy up near a window with a book and take in the views with the ever shifting light through the trees. Hanging out in the yard at night with strung lights felt like being in a movie . . . a great one. And yes there is a soundtrack. The house has a great sound system! I loved learning about the history of the place, and was grateful to be part of it and can’t wait to go back.
 Melisss K., Santa Rosa, CA - VRBO, Aug 14, 2017 ........................ Perfect Celebration Setting
Six of us met to celebrate our Medicare birthdays. We wanted beauty, quiet, walks, a bit of adventure, a nearby restaurant, but mostly talks, talks, talks and much laughter. The ranch was perfect: we could be together when we wanted to, and private when we chose. We spent hours in the kitchen and around the dining table, or reading in the sun coming through the endless windows, and by the end of our too short stay, it was hard to leave the Adirondacks in the front yard. The ranch was just what we needed!
 Sharon K., Sebastopol, CA - VRBO, May 25, 2017 .............................. Incredible Ranch House
8 of us spent two nights at this lovely farmhouse. The house was Immaculate, well equipped kitchen, decorated with a lovely simplicity – all 8 of us were able to be in the kitchen at the same time with ease. Incredibly comfortable for a group inside and outside. Given we are long time friends, we felt we were enacting the movie the “big chill.” The large dining room table was conducive to sitting for hours engaged in lively conversation after fixing delicious meals. OUTSTANDING HOME TO BE IN!
 Arturo T., Chula Vista, CA - AirBnB, April 25, 2017 ........................ The home is beautiful but ...
By far, the most welcoming and friendly hosts I have ever encountered. The home is beautiful, but the family is a treasure.
 Catherine, Sausalito, CA - AirBnB, Jan 23, 2017 ........................................... Fantastic
Our weekend at the Straus Family Home was fantastic. The house and shed are very thoughtfully put together, everything is beautiful with lots of original character. Not to mention the spectacular location. We really appreciated all the information and communications that Michael and Vivien have put together, the family history and connection to the house is wonderful. We’d love to return.
 Thomas, Capay Valley, CA - Google Reviews, Jan 22, 2017 ...................... Perfect spot
This was the perfect spot for a surprise birthday weekend. Michael and Vivien’s have opened their family’s home to create many more memories of joy and celebration. We were 8 adults and three children and totally comfortable. All aspects of the house are thoughtfully detailed to create a warm and inviting space. And Vivien and Michael are two of the loveliest people, happy to share their experience and knowledge. They are quick and thorough communicators. Cannot recommend their home ranch highly enough.
 Bride's Mom, San Francisco, CA - VRBO, Dec 30, 2016 ...................... Charming Farm House
This delightful home was exactly what we were looking for as a Christmas getaway for our extended family. The home is well equipped, comfortable and charming. We were a bit concerned about it having just two bathrooms but that wasn’t a problem for our family of 5. We loved the location. The home was spacious, yet cozy and the kitchen was wonderful.
 Dan F., San Rafael, CA - VRBO, August 18, 2016 ..................... Spectacular home in a stunning setting
With a family of five visiting us from England, we wanted to showcase the best that Marin County has to offer, and that meant a stay at the wonderful Straus Home Ranch. There we found the perfect marriage of people and nature, scenery and history, superb accommodations in a serene environment. Michael sat us in a field among cows and told stories of life on the farm. The house dates to the earliest days of agriculture in California, and yet the Straus family are incredible pioneers and innovators, founding the Marin Agricultural Land Trust that has preserved so much farmland (and inspired imitators around the globe) and establishing an organic dairy that now has 75 percent of farms in Marin and Sonoma also raising organic cows.

 

In addition to all that, the house is perfectly modern, extremely comfortable, and the perfect place for big family meals. And it served as a launchpad for everything we love in Point Reyes. We especially recommend the Tomales Point hike, an eight-mile round-trip ramble with views of Tomales Bay and the ocean and the added treat of a vast herd of magnificent Tule Elk. We stopped at the Inverness Park market on the way — who could believe such a small rural market had such a sophisticated big city deli? With other food coming from Tomales Bay Foods, Cowgirl Creamery, Bovine Bakery, and the Palace Market, we ate like kings.

Thanks Michael and Vivien! We will be back!

 Frank V., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, August 9, 2016 ...................................... Happy days
We came with 7 adults, 4 kids and made the Straus Ranch our weekend getaway. We had a wonderful time in a wonderful house, prepared by our wonderful host, Vivien. BBQ under the stars, a tent on the green grass in the garden, turkeys and fawns running wild behind the house- and peaceful nights. Thank you, Wilhelm (Straus) for finding and building this place- and thanks to Vivien and Michael for opening it to us.
 Eddy K., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, August 7, 2016 ..........................Great place, great people
I was looking for a low key, private home to host friends for my birthday party and the Straus home met all my needs and then some. The home is beautifully maintained and is large enough to house a group. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The front lawn was the perfect venue for an afternoon of wine and oysters from Hog Island up the street. The setting is everyone one can hope for from Tomales Bay. Vivien Straus was the utmost host, introducing us the the Straus cows and a tour of the fields. She even mailed back a few items we forgot. It’s great to support good people. Highly recommended!
 Helena G., Sacramento, CA - VRBO, July 29, 2016 ...................................... Magical place
This home is gorgeous and romantic. Despite my high expectations from looking at all the photos and reviews, the beauty, charm and cleanliness of the home actually exceeded my expectations. There is so much beauty and rich history here–the lush gardens, the lights stringed outside between the huge sprawling trees, the views of the farmland and the bay from the windows, the dark wood floors, red barns, the inviting row of adirondack chairs, the incredible fragrance from all the trees and flowers outside, there’s too much to list here. The house made our party of 12 women celebrating a 50th birthday very special. They allowed us to bring air mattresses for the extra two guests. There was plenty of room and everyone was very comfortable. The kitchen and the bathrooms are well stocked and the dining room is especially lovely. It would be a great venue for an intimate wedding. I would love to return for years to come. The owners (Vivien and Michael) were so responsive and helpful with any questions and suggestions. I have rented many houses through VRBO and this was by far the best experience I’ve ever had.
 Nahal A., San Francisco, CA - AirBnB, July 18, 2016 ...................... A very special destination
From the minute we booked the Straus Home Ranch until we left, Michael and Vivien made sure our stay was easy and very special. They were both very responsive in the weeks leading up to our stay, and when we arrived at the Straus Home, it was pristine and very well prepared for our stay. If we needed anything during our stay, Michael made sure we had everything we needed. The Ranch is a very special destination, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway in the Bay Area.
 Linda G., Pleasant Hill, CA - VRBO, July 16, 2016 ........................... Beautiful spot to vacation
The home was very comfortable and the area is a great vacation spot. Lots to do or even better you can spend a lot of time relaxing. Hosts very friendly and accommodating. Home is ideally suited for families. Lots of room for the kids and nice little beach across the street. Highly recommended. We hope to go back!!
 Will C., Brooklyn, NY - VRBO, June 15, 2016 ................................................... Incredible
Straus House is truly a magical place. Right across from Tomales Bay with gorgeously manicured grounds and interior details, we couldn’t possibly have enjoyed our stay more. On top of the physical space, Vivien and Mike couldn’t be nicer people – we hope to be back many times in the future!
 Lorna L., Nevada City, CA - VRBO, May 14, 2016 ........... Country Farm, with High-End Hospitality
Straus Home Ranch was so cozy and comfy, yet with tastefully decorated with high-end country style that makes it a perfect Sunset Magazine road trip destination. I love the fact that the Straus family strive to make the property as non-toxic, and eco-friendly as possible, with wonderfully refreshing, biodegradable soaps & hair care products which made the stay so much more enjoyable. Michael was an awesome host and really went the extra mile to ensure my pleasurable stay. Stunning views of Tomales Bay. Stay a few days, visit Point Reyes and enjoy the best of farm to table restaurants and California cuisine.
 Nancy R., Palo Alto, CA - VRBO, April 14, 2016 ........................................ A truly special experience!
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at Straus Home Ranch! The Straus family’s warm hospitality and personal touches are genuine, and were appreciated by all in our large group. The rooms are beautiful and comfy—every thoughtful detail felt as though it had been prepared just for us. We especially enjoyed cooking in their kitchen, which had every amenity available, and eating meals at the big wood dining table. So nice!. There are numerous things to do in close proximity to Straus Ranch so it’s a perfect location for exploring Point Reyes and the surrounding area. It is, hands down, a truly special experience!
 Marie G., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, April 4, 2016 ............................... Incredible Attention to Detail
Nine of us women had a ladies weekend at this house and we had an incredible time. The house is perfectly decorated in a charming, fresh, and cozy way. Vivien and Michael are wonderful hosts, easy going and really helpful. We really appreciated all the attention to detail and loved every minute we spent in the beautiful house. You can see the cows out in the field, which just makes you feel immersed in the experience. I will definitely come here again!
 Grateful Traveler, Los Altos Hills, CA - VRBO, April 1, 2016 ........................ Magical home & region
Our stay at the Straus Home Ranch was simply magical for our group of 5 friends and a perfect spot for exploring the Point Reyes area for the first time. Enjoyed the large, well-stocked kitchen with dinner in two nights. Everyone raved about the comfy beds and home furnishings. It took me 20 minutes to get from one end of the house to the other because I was stopped in my tracks at every window by the beauty just outside – calla lilies and iris lining the front walk, a eucalyptus grove out back and a herd of black and white cows to the side. And so many rainbows over the rolling, green hills! We piled onto the cozy couch one night and watched “Rebels with a Cause”. What appreciation we have for the Straus family and the other wise, tenacious people who fought to preserve this very beautiful piece of the California coast. Grateful to have been able to stay in this amazing home and share in its good juju! Thank you so much.
 Alexander H., Hawaii - VRBO, February 27, 2016 ..................................... Outstanding Straus Ranch
We were so blessed to be able to stay at the historic, beautiful and unmatched Straus Home Ranch. It was luxury and simplicity at its finest. We felt as if we were transported back in time, with all of the current luxuries. With Tomales Bay and a private beach, along with all of the family history we cannot think of a better choice than Straus Home Ranch. Thank you Michael and Vivien! We look forward to our return.
 Keith H., Albany, CA - Google Reviews, January 5, 2016 .................................... One of a kind!
We spent a fantastic evening and couple of days here. The location is beautiful! Rolling green hills sweeping down to the beach. The gorgeous bay and an incredible sunset. The house itself is one-of-a-kind. It’s 150 years old! But it feels new – fully modern kitchen, dining room with a long wooden table just made for big meals and celebrations with friends, spacious living room with views of the water (and a grand piano!) and a cozy den with big tv for movies in the evening. The bedrooms are nicely decorated and every bed tempts you with bountiful pillows, comforters and blankets. I can’t imagine a better place to spend quiet (or lively!) time with friends and family. Great hiking and food are nearby as well, and the hosts (siblings Michael and Vivian) are very friendly, attentive and know the area like, well, like they grew up here! Highly recommended.
 Megan W., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, January 1, 2016  ................ The Perfect Christmas Holiday!
We spent Christmas here with our families and it was absolutely magical! The location is a dream, gorgeous rolling hills, peaceful afternoons watching the cows meander, the ocean just right across the street. The kitchen is well-equipped and we made a lovely family dinner each night. The bedrooms are large and it was perfect for putting little ones to bed upstairs while the adults celebrated downstairs. Michael gave us a wonderful tour of the farm. He was so kind, very informative, and shared some pretty hilarious stories. Vivien was so communicative and took great care of us, even coming to the house once to bring us fresh sheets. HIGHLY recommend a family and/or friends getaway here for the weekend. The house is near a few great restaurants and watering holes, and only about 20 mins from some of the best hikes you will ever do in your entire life…promise…just gorgeous natural beauty…the ocean, tide pools, deer, birds, cows. Please do the Abbots Lagoon trail and stop on the way for a sandwich at Perry’s in Inverness.
 La Verne H., Calabasas, CA - VRBO, December 6, 2015  ....................................'Paradise Found!'
You can be close to home, yet feel so far away. The Straus Home Ranch proved to be the perfect spot for relaxing and spending time with family and friends. The unusual duo of pastoral and water views was fabulous. The house itself is a special place. A lovely restoration, with the feeling of a ranch house left intact. The well appointed kitchen left us wanting to cook despite the incredible eateries in the surrounding area. We watched the sunrise over the pastures and sunsets glisten on the bay everyday, for a week. We were in a great ranch house, in a unique town and could not have been happier.
 Gabriel G., Carmel, CA - VRBO, September 14, 2015  ....................  'Really Enjoyed the Straus Property'
We visited the ranch to celebrate my wife’s birthday with some friends. The house was very comfortable and very well set up. There was everything needed to entertain guests in the kitchen which was a nice surprise (often vrbo’s have minimum equipped kitchens but here there were plenty of platters, glasses, big bowls etc…) The beds were comfortable. The ammenities provided are all great, from the towels to the tv. The owners of the property were very helpful and welcoming and they went above and beyond to make sure we had a pleasant stay. Thank you Vivien and Michael!
 Christopher L, Ross, CA - AirBnB, September 11, 2015  ...............  'Couldn't have been nicer!'
Perfect location for an extended family Labor Day weekend. The kids loved seeing the cows in the backyard. The setting right on the Bay was perfect. Most importantly, the hosts couldn’t have been nicer! We’ll be back.
 Rachel, Lafayette, CA - VRBO, July 21, 2015  .............................................  'We had a fantastic time!! '
This was such a magical weekend. the location of the farm, the amenities, the house, the farm itself & the owner were just exceptional!! my family and i (4 adults & 4 kids) spent a long weekend at the farm and couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay. the home was incredibly stocked from cooking supplies, beach towels and games – the owners tour of the farm was magically learning the history of the farm, his family and organic farming and the location to all the incredible sites around the area were ideal. we had a fantastic time!! cannot wait to go back again.
 Diane G., Silicon Valley, CA - VRBO, July 9, 2015  ......................................  'Wonderful week-long stay'
We had a relaxing and wonderful time with friends spending a week in the Marshall area, paddle boarding, bike riding, reading, and eating! The house had all the comforts of home and then some, more ways to make coffee than even we have! It is also furnished tastefully and fully. The Straus family little history book is charming. We are all so lucky that the Staus family settled in Marshall and that Elen Straus and Phylis Faber founded MALT.
    Mary Anne G., Fresno, CA - VRBO, June 19, 2015  ...............................  'The pictures hardly do justice'
We had a fabulous family weekend at the Straus Home Ranch. The pictures hardly do justice to the charm
of this ranch. It is such a comfortable well appointed home! We arrived to flowers in every bedroom, bathroom and the dining room. What a nice touch! You have made this a very inviting home for a get away with friends or family. We hope to return in the very near future!
    Cathy C., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, June 9, 2015  ...............  'Fantastic home away from home'
Just spent the weekend at Straus Home Ranch with 8 friends. We enjoyed our stay so much. We only left the house once for a hike, otherwise, we talked, laughed, ate and drank, cooked, shared stories, did yoga on the lawn, and generally enjoyed every room in the house. The decor is lovely, warm, inviting; the kitchen is very well-appointed for all cooking needs; and the beds comfy as can be. There is a view of Tomales Bay from several rooms in the house. I can’t wait to reserve again and create more memories with friends or family.
    Heather H., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, June 1, 2015  .......................................  'Beyond Amazing!'
We rented the house for my friend’s (very low key) bachelorette! And it was beyond amazing! The house was lovely – recently renovated; retained the old world charm while also being beautiful and cozy neat, with some of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in … ever! And the setting is stunning – the house is surrounded by the water of the bay and beautiful pastoral hills. And last (but definitely not least) – the owners were phenomenal – provided wonderful recommendations for our stay, giving us a fascinating tour of the history of farming, both in Marin and of their family (ask about the cult story – it’s fascinating)! Would definitely return!
    Bill R., San Francisco, CA - TripAdvisor, May 25, 2015  .........  'Absolutely lovely and so relaxing!'
I turned 50 earlier this year and we’ve been celebrating with different groups of friends in different places, instead of a big party. Our early-May weekend at the Straus Ranch was the loveliest location, the most charming house and the most relaxed group dynamic.

The eight of us had grand plans to hike to Tomales Point and to kayak in Tomales Bay. That all went by the wayside as we woke up to the beautiful views out over the water from right where we were, and when Michael kindly offered a walking tour of the hillside pastures and a history of the Ranch. Both the views and the story were beautiful and fascinating. And our stroll through the hills ended right across the street from Nick’s Cove, where we watched the fog clear from the end of the pier.

We did manage to travel as far as the Marshall Store for a grilled oyster lunch on the shore, and for a run up and back one of the country roads just south of the Ranch. But the most relaxing fun was at the house, especially for our two big group dinners. We had a big pot of pasta sauce going to greet our guests as they arrived the first night, and we grilled chicken and veggies the second night. The spacious and well-stocked kitchen and the big, beautiful dining room table provided far more capacity than we needed for two such dinner parties for eight.

Then the living room was perfect for relaxing all together after dinner, and the den for slipping off sometimes to read. The four bedrooms upstairs are all lovely, private and very comfortable. And the two bathrooms with showers — one up and one down — were definitely all we needed (it is a farm after all).

We plan to get back up there before long and do one of the nighttime bioluminescence tours by kayak. Now I can’t believe that when we did that a few years ago we stayed in some shoddy B&B when we could have been here!

    Carol & Jonathan, London, England - May 10, 2015 ...........................................  'A great experience'
IMG_0791We have thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Straus Home Ranch. A first for us to stay on a working ranch with our family from San Francisco. We have come from England! Your book on the history of the Straus family is fascinating and has made our enjoyment of staying here even greater. The Home Ranch is welcoming; we have loved the garden and farmland around and the views of the Bay. Our twin grandsons have loved playing in the fantastic open space. They have loved seeing the cows and spent a happy hour or two on the beach. Thank you for introducing us to your delicious dairy products which we have loved sampling around the dining table. All together a great experience. With thanks.
Francesca., San Francisco, CA, April 15, 2015  .................................................  'Exceedingly beautiful'
IMG_0793Dear Straus Family, Thank you for sharing your warm, comfortable and exceedingly beautiful house with us. We so appreciated your extensive generosity. The flowers in every room, the Thackrey wine and treats in the kitchen were all touching and so welcoming. It was a treat to communicate with you, Vivien and Michael, wonderful to meet you. I do hope to be able to come again. Thanks you also, to your family for M.A.L.T. We just can’t ever thank you enough for keeping this area magical. Ever so appreciatively, Francesca.
    Liz R., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, April 2015  .................................................... 'HEAVEN ON EARTH!'
HEAVEN ON EARTH! I don’t see the review I wrote as soon as I got home on here yet. Hmmm? This is a WONDERFUL, AMAZING, GORGEOUS get away just outside SF! Michael and Vivian were the perfect hosts, available, but never in the way. The amenities in the house are perfect. A chef’s DREAM. It was just PERFECT. Stop thinking about it and BOOK IT! You will be so happy you did.
    Stephanie K., Santa Monica, CA - AirBnB, April 2015  ................................  'We will definitely be back!'
My family and I just stayed at the Straus Home Ranch for a few wonderful spring days, and it was amazing. The house is beautifully restored and was perfect for our family. The kids could runaround together outside and make up their own adventures while the adults could just relax and look at the beautiful trees, cows, barns and Tomales Bay. Really a very special experience for us all. Ours hosts were more than accommodating, making us feel welcome and at ease. My only regret is that we didn’t get to stay for longer. We will definitely be back! Thank you.
    Lucy P., San Francisco, CA - AirBnB, March 2015  ...........................................  'Totally rejuvenated!'
This place is simply magical! It was a pleasure communicating with Michael and Vivien who were extremely friendly and helpful in recommending lots of things to do and places to go in the area. The house is beautifully decorated inside and has a very good energy about the place. We ate brunch outside each morning in the sun on the epic outdoor dinning table and were able to cook some great meals in the amazing kitted out kitchen. The peace and beauty of the house, the grounds and Tomales Bay is very special – we came away feeling totally rejuvenated! We will certainly be back. Thanks Michael and Vivien for being so welcoming.
    Sheryl C., San Diego, CA - VRBO, October 16, 2014  ..............................................  'Rustic Luxury'
Rustic Luxury:The Straus Ranch sits on an idyllic property of beautiful open farmland with views of Tomales Bay across the street. It’s a newly remodeled farm house with all its charm intact but the bonus of modern amenities and comforts. The owners are very friendly and eager to help wether to give our kids an impromptu tour of the barn and history of the property or send a forgotten sweater back to our house. I can’t say enough about their hospitality. Point Reyes and Tomales Bay are magical and unique but staying at this property on our last visit really connected our family to the area. I highly recommend the Straus Ranch for your next visit to Point Reyes.
    Linda E., - TripAdvisor, September 23, 2014  ................................................  'Fabulous grand piano'
The Straus Home Ranch is located in a beautiful pastoral setting with lovely views of Tomales Bay. My husband and I vacationed there along with 3 other couples. The home is cozy and the beds are very comfortable. It is well stocked with a large kitchen, BBQ, games, books and a fabulous grand piano in the living room. My friends and I enjoyed a fun night of singing around the piano. There’s lots to do in the area: hiking, kayaking, dining, shopping, wine tasting and cheese tasting. I never tasted dairy products a wonderful as the organic Straus brand. The Straus Home Ranch is a great place to bond with family and friends. We are looking forward to returning.
    Tiare F., - VRBO, September 22, 2014  ...........................................................  'We'd love to come back!'
We loved our time at the Straus Home Ranch. The setting was beautiful, the proximity to Tomales Bay was wonderful, and the house could not have been more pleasant and cozy. We’d love to come back any time!

 

    Margalit M., Berkeley, CA - VRBO, August 21, 2014  ..........  'Beautifully remodeled farmhouse'
This beautifully remodeled farmhouse on Tomales Bay was a perfect long weekend adventure for our family with young adult children. The kitchen is wonderful to cook in with great light, excellent supplies and eating areas indoor ant out. The bedrooms are comfortable with great views of Tomales Bay and the farmlands and red barn. There are fun adventures to be had in the area such as kayaking, farm and cheese tours, and great food and restaurants close by. Really a magical place.
    Howard S., Poughkeepsie, NY - YELP, August 20, 2014  .....................................  'A real getaway'
The house was a real getaway. Quiet and away from the urban bustle. Dairy farm on one side and the Tomales Bay on the other. Newly renovated, with a great kitchen with breakfast bar and separate eating area. Comfy couches and four bedrooms. But who wants to stay indoors, when there is so much to do nearby. We used it as a jumping off point for the National Seashore and also the Napa Valley. At the end of the day it was like coming home.
    Jennifer S., Berkeley, CA - VRBO, August 19, 2014  ........................................  'Perfectly appointed'
We were lucky enough to be the very first visitors to Straus Home Ranch since its opening to the public in June. The farm house is beautifully restored and perfectly appointed with great bedding, linens, and a fully stocked kitchen. The Straus family kept the magical historic feeling of the home while making it completely updated and comfortable. We were graciously greeted and taken care of by Michael Straus who grew up there. Both the beach and the pastures and hills above the property are lovely for exploring and would be great entertainment for kids. The resident cows were a big hit with my guests from Japan. The large natural wood dining table at the center of the house makes this the perfect place for a small family reunion or gathering of friends. I can’t recommend the Straus Home Ranch more highly!
    Patrick L., San Rafael, CA - VRBO, August 16, 2014  ..........  Perfect location for perfect vacation'
The house is beautiful, the scenery around it spectacular, and the surrounding area is second-to-none nationwide. If you’re looking for a place to kick back and relax in West Marin, this is the spot. The home is historic, but don’t conjure up images of worn down and funky. In truth, the furnishings are modern and well appointed, the beds are new and extraordinarily comfortable, and the kitchen is top notch and has everything you’ll need to prepare a meal for 2-12 people. I was exhausted and in need of a quiet and tranquil setting to get away for a few days. This rental more than fit the bill, and was beyond my expectations. We ate great food, saw amazing stars, kayaked on the bay, slept in late, and enjoyed our stay immensely! A perfect location for a perfect vacation!
    Eli B., NY - VRBO, August 13, 2014  ................................................................ 'Absolutely loved my stay'
I came to this house on a family vacation with my mom and some other friends, and absolutely loved my stay. The kitchen (very important to a teenage boy) is very well stocked with more appliances than you could imagine using and is very cozy with bright lighting and a beautiful wooden bar for eating and talking. The bedrooms (also very important) have enormous queen sized beds that you fall asleep in within seconds if the light’s off. The baby grand piano, as well as some great board games and books, make a nice addition to the homely living room. Wifi is decent which makes up for the lack of cell phone reception. Outside of the house, there are enormous eucalyptus trees that smell amazing and make the landscape breathtaking. Vivien was able to give us an amazing tour of the fields and I got to see some baby calves! The history of the farm is incredibly rich throughout the last fifty years. This area of California has tons of activities for tourists. My family and I went on a spectacular hike on the Tomales Point, where we found a stunning secluded beach, making for a perfect picnic of baguette and cheese. And even driving along California’s Highway 1 gives gorgeous views of the coastline. Thank you so much for this unique experience! I hope we get the chance to visit again.
   Lorna L., CA - VRBO, July 28, 2014  ...................................................  'We just REALLY felt at home'
This is a perfect place. To get to stay in the heart of gorgeous west marin and in the house of the Straus dairy family alongside Tomales Bay really made our family reunion that much more special. The kitchen was stocked with all the right tools (oysters anyone?), the views were lovely, the beds were comfortable, the grounds well cared for, not fussy, refined.…. mostly, though, we just REALLY felt at home here. The place fosters a truly cozy, comfortable, old-world and kind of romantic experience of living on the land in an old Victorian happy house. Also: nearby kayaking, food, views, hiking in Point Reyes, art studios, cow gazing, etc. are all easy and fun day trips from this homestead-like house. Enjoy your stay, you’ll remember it always. We’re already planning out return back.
    Margaret  S., Pittsburgh, PA - VRBO, July 28, 2014  ..........  'Spacious, immaculate & enchanting'
In this vintage-meets-modern farmhouse, there are no crocheted quilts and no teddybears. What you get is pristine comfort with all the amenities thrown in. Our stay was perfect, from the mattresses to the views. The house is spacious, immaculate and enchanting. By day we found kayaking, hiking and beaches all within convenient reach. By night we lingered in the welcoming kitchen and sat hours around the reclaimed redwood table under the stars. Our spirits were rejuvenated; we reconnected to a slower, more natural pace. We left with a sigh, looking forward to our next opportunity to visit.
    Peter M., Oakland, CA - AirBnB, July 7, 2014  .................................................'Amazing place'
This was an amazing place to retreat with friends and family. Michael gave us a great tour of the grounds. Extra bonus, this place is walking distance to Nick’s Cove Restaurant for food and drink.
    Kevin L., San Francisco - TripAdvisor, July 3, 2014  .........  'Best house you'll find on Tomales Bay!'
Wow…what a house and experience! It was an absolutely perfect stay for our group of 9 friends celebrating my fiancé’s birthday weekend on 6/28/14.

I would highly recommend the location if you want a getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city.Michael was the best host I’ve ever come across, which is a high compliment. He gave us an historical tour of the farm, the fields, the beach, the barns, and a great overview of the Straus Family Creamery history in the organic movement/land preservation of Marin County. Really amazing if you’re into that sort of thing (which we are). So much history in Tomales Bay!

He then let us be to enjoy the property…which had everything. The kitchen is huge and fully stocked with all the oils, spices, condiments, specialty utensils (shucker!), kitchen gadgets (rice cooker), cast iron pans, gas grill, and even a nice care basket of Straus Creamery items. We bought 2 bags of hog island oysters to shuck in the afternoon, had fish tacos in the evening with all the sides, and a big farm breakfast the next morning. For dinner, we loved the huge table setting…with some day trippers coming up, 12 people fit around the table for dinner pretty comfortably.

The rooms…wow! All four of them are upstairs and are gorgeous. Lots of natural light, brand new beds, tasteful decor, and each had views of the bay or farm. The upstairs has such a cool wrap around deck that some friends hung out to play music on and some of us enjoyed star gazing after dark, such a cool feature. We had people go to bed at different times and the noise from downstairs didn’t bother anyone trying to sleep earlier.

There was also a TV room (which we didn’t use much, except for the 9th person who used the comfy pull out couch). We did use the piano and sitting room, with a baby grand that was used a lot 🙂 Comfy, stylish couches-chairs and floor rugs that when we moved into that area. We also loved the big 1st floor wrap around porch, but spent most of the afternoon in the front yard and the patio area shucking/eating oysters, drinking wine, and enjoying a perfect sunny day. We also really enjoyed taking a stroll the nearby beach across highway 1 after dinner…I only wish we would have brought some firewood to enjoy the cool evening at the beach longer. Also a plus, no mobile phone service 🙂 but great wifi for hooking up to spotify and posting your favorite pics instantly, ha.
I can’t recommend the Straus Ranch enough…just go!!!

Keiko N., San Francisco - TripAdvisor, June 30, 2014  ...............................  'Warm hospitality'
This is the house the Straus Family lived before, and you can feel the warm hospitality the family always had. Renovated as a modern vacation house, the house still has the feel of the history and memories of the family. Michael and Vivien are very friendly and pay attention to the details of the house. It is close to many attracted places such as Hog Island Oyster Company, Cowgirl Creamery and Point Reyes Station. Surrounded by the beautiful nature, the house has both the convenience of the modern life and the nice atmosphere of the rural life. We are sure you will enjoy a most wonderful stay there!

 

Weddings & Festivities

  Sabrina & Pablo, Washington, DC - Google Reviews, Nov 20, 2017 ............... It was wonderful
We were married at Straus Ranch and it was wonderful. The location, facilities, and hosts (Vivien and Michael) made our day extra special. The house is very well-maintained and comfortable. The event space (lawn and shed) were also in great condition and easy-to-use. It was a pleasure working with Vivien and Michael, and their friendliness made our day less stressful. We hope to return often and it is the perfect place for a family gathering.
  Yuan & Mike, San Francisco, CA - VRBO, Oct 24, 2017 ............... Beautiful place and lovely hosts
When I first visited Straus Home Ranch for a wedding site visit, I knew immediately this is the one! The hosts: Vivien & Micheal, were the best hosts you could ask for. They always answered our questions within 24hrs and provided so much information & details, which made the entire planning process stress-free. During the wedding weekend, they made sure we had everything we needed for both rehearsal & wedding events. Our guests were impressed by the beauty of this place and our families had a wonderful stay in the ranch. We love this venue and would certainly consider come back to this area!
  Alex and Alex, San Francisco, CA - VRBO, Oct 18, 2017 ............... In the middle of heaven
I could go on and on about my INCREDIBLE stay at the farm house, but words can’t describe the magic. A massive THANK YOU to Vivien and Michael for making us feel welcome and making sure we were well taken care of. Again, heaven.
Kevin & Kelle, San Leandro, CA - VRBO, Dec 31, 2016 .......Glorious Home, full of magic and beauty!
The Straus Home Ranch will forever be a magical place where dreams come true. Our New year’s Eve wedding was picture perfect​ and full of charm, love and happiness. Our guests fell equally in loved with this venue and shared our passion for the area and all of its riches. Michael and Vivian, the venue hosts, are as lovely as this wonderful home they grew up in, and quickly felt like old friends with their incredible hospitality and genuine kindness. Whether for a wedding, family reunion, small get together or just a weekend out of the city, the Straus Home Ranch is the perfect backdrop for any occasion. Rest assure, we’ve already booked our next visit.
 Faith & Bela, San Francisco, CA - VRBO, Nov 1, 2016 ...........You made our wedding magical!
Wow! What can we say about Straus Home Ranch? An absolutely stunning and gorgeous setting nestled in majestic Tomales Bay, surrounded by eucalyptus and pines accompanied by an idyllic farmhouse with 2 awesome old barns. Not only has the Straus house retained it’s historical old-world feel – it’s character, warmth and little touches made us feel instantly at home. We fell in love with this place the moment we stepped foot in it. After viewing multiple locations, we knew we had to have our wedding here – it was absolutely the perfect spot. We felt so welcomed by Vivien and Michael – awesome hosts, easy communicators and really just super nice people. They were incredibly professional and helpful at every step of the way and they truly went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. A little about the wedding. Although we had selected the perfect date months in advance – expecting an all-day outdoor wedding in the sunshine – at the 11th hour se were suddenly faced with the reality that it was going to rain heavily… We had to decide to either have the wedding at Straus or find another location. Vivien & Michael did everything in their power to help us and we finally decided to stay at Straus (thank goodness!) and ended up having one of the most intimate and magical tent weddings you could possibly have with 100+ people. We were lucky enough to have our ceremony outside under the whispy front tree before the rains came – and somehow magically, moments after the ceremony ended and everyone got in the tent – the first big rains of the season opened up! Although not at all what we had originally planned – we ended up with one of the most beautiful sunsets of the year and a huge rainbow and a full moon at the end to boot! I really can’t say enough about how incredible Straus Home Ranch, Vivien and Michael are. Thank you Vivien and Michael you made our wedding magical!
 Amon & Erica, San Francisco, CA - VRBO, Oct 4, 2016 ....... Beautiful location, gracious hosts!
We loved the Straus House and hope to come back with friends one day. We had our wedding at the venue, and all guests were blown away by the venue. The sunset, the wind in the trees, the house itself… everything was great. Vivien and Michael are generous hosts and they’ve made many improvements to the location. We relaxed in the yard, danced in the barn, and crossed the street to enjoy some sun on the beach. The house itself is furnished beautifully and the kitchen and dining room were perfect for group cooking and eating. Absolutely lovely on all counts!
 Sarah & Howard, San Francisco, CA - VRBO, Sept 29, 2016 ...Amazing people, breathtaking property
We just got married at the Straus Home Ranch and couldn’t have been more pleased with our experience. Vivien and Michael are wonderful to work with and they set a great tone. They respond very quickly to all types of questions. They are always willing to help and do so with a fantastic attitude. When things changed on the pasture or with the house that hadn’t been planned they communicated them well and did whatever they could to improve things. They didn’t nickle and dime us on any costs. They also allowed us to visit the site multiple times as part of our planning. Our wedding coordinator also loved them. We felt that they were truly invested in our wedding which is far more than we ever would have asked. The house is beautiful with excellent linens and the kitchen is very well stocked. It’s perfect for a big group dinner at the oversized dining table (which we had). If you are considering staying here for a weekend don’t hesitate- the place is great. We got married on the pasture with awesome views of the Bay under a cathedral of eucalyptus and cypress trees. None of that would have been possible without them being willing to think beyond the cookie-cutter wedding options. If you’re considering getting married here- it’s wonderful. It’s not a wedding venue so sign on prepared to do the heavy lifting yourself and hire a great coordinator. But the natural beauty of the venue and the fantastic experience working with Vivien and Michael can’t be beat (in our opinion).
 Mona B., Saratoga, CA - VRBO, July 7, 2016 .................................. PERFECT wedding venue!
We celebrated our wedding at the Straus Home Ranch with about 40 guests and I could not have been happier. The location was perfect for our small and intimate celebration. Since the outdoors were so beautiful and peaceful, most of our guests spent the entire time around our bonfire pit in the garden in front of the house. However, the house and shed were also available if people wanted to be indoors. The house itself is so beautifully decorated and remodeled, it has an amazing cozy vibe to it. It has all the amenities and items you would need to spend the night, even shampoo/conditioner/body soap in dispensers in the showers! With plenty of clean sheets and blankets and towels. The kitchen is stocked with utilities like a full sized fridge, coffeemaker, etc. The shed gave a great rustic feeling and was perfect for placing all of our tables with snacks and decorations and gifts. The garden was beautifully lit and great for our bonfire and for our bar and catering setup. Vivien and Michael were the most helpful, thoughtful and accommodating hosts. I received immediate responses from them any time I asked my billion questions. I constantly sent them emails asking questions. They worked so hard to make this day perfect for me and I am so appreciative of their help. The view of the Bay adds to the calming ranch scene. This location is perfect for people that want a quiet place to be away from all the city noises and really create an intimate and personal environment. The property had everything we needed, from fold up tables, to wooden benches, to outdoor string lighting, and all the amenities necessary. My family loved the place so much they talked about getting family together again in the future to go back and just spend a couple of days there to relax and get away. My guests could not stop talking about how beautiful and different the place was and how it was the best wedding celebration they had attended. Waking up the next day to the smell of the trees and outdoors was so serene and breathtaking. The views are something you need to see for yourself to understand. If you are looking for a small venue for a very unique, affordable and enjoyable wedding, I recommend this highly. I searched for a long time to find what I wanted and nothing compared. I could seriously go on and on about all the other positive aspects of this place, but it’s best that you contact the hosts themselves and ask anything you want, they’ll get back to you very quickly!
 Joycelyn M., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, July 1, 2016 ........... Magical property, beautiful setting
We are grateful to have had our wedding ceremony at Straus Home (22 guests). The care and thought put into layout, decor, and landscaping created the perfect ambiance for our day. Straus Home’s interior and surrounding property have much character, which allowed our guests to find their own comfortable nooks to spend the day. Vivien and Michael are the most gracious of hosts, thoughtful, efficient, and responsive; they have made many upgrades to accommodate weddings without losing the charm of this property. The love and legacy of the Straus family makes this property magical, and its beautiful setting by Tomales Bay is not to be missed.
 Christina P., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, May 27, 2016 ...........Gorgeous property, amazing people
My husband and I held our 90-person wedding ceremony and reception at the Straus Home Ranch last weekend. We cannot imagine a more perfect location or experience! The grounds are enchanting–from the towering eucalyptus and cypress trees, to the green pastures, to the views of the bay, the chorus of birds, etc. etc. The night before our wedding, there were high winds and the forecast predicted a 60% chance of rain, which is unusual for late May. It never came, which made the sun’s appearance during our outdoor ceremony all the more magical. The lovingly restored house is similarly stunning, featuring beautiful craftsmanship, tasteful furnishings, and plenty of natural light. The house is somehow cozy, minimal, and elegant. It invites you to linger. Vivien and Michael were a dream! They are two of the most hardworking and loving people we’ve ever met. Their warmth and responsiveness from our first email exchange through the big day made everything easier and more enjoyable. One example: they instantly removed a large fallen tree branch on the morning of our wedding. They are also committed to adding amenities to the venue over time. We were pleased to have access to a parking area as well as the shed for dancing, features that were not available during our initial visit. Many of our guests came from hundreds or thousands of miles away. They too fell in love with the venue and area. How special to reconnect with friends and family in this awe-inspiring place. Words cannot fully convey our gratitude and joy. We are in San Francisco and can’t wait to return!
 Eric H., Palo Alto, CA - VRBO, May 6, 2016 ............... Riding on a cloud made of candy in our dreams!
I can’t say enough good things about the property and the Straus siblings, but I will try.

First, I want to be best friends with Michael and Vivien. It’s not often where you meet vendors that make you feel so comfortable and at home that you want to talk more business just to hang out longer. The Straus siblings were not only as warm as hot cocoa on a cold winter’s night, they were also incredibly efficient. They were premier professionals by setting/managing expectations and going above & beyond when a request was made by us. For example, we made the lofty decision to put up our own lighting for our wedding. When we realized that it was simply unscaleable for us to do, Michael stepped up and spent more than four hours of his own time to help put the lights up for us. He had no obligation to do so, but was happy to do so. Just amazing.

Onto the ranch itself. Dear lord, why this property isn’t booked every day for a wedding or an event is beyond me. It really does feel like it’s a fantasy property. In summary, we got married in a ranch located in the woods by a beach. You turn left and you see a beautifully green pasture that looks like what JRR Tolkien was describing when writing about the Shire. You turn right and it’s a VAST OCEAN WHERE ALL THE TEARS BORNE OUT OF THE BEAUTY OF THE VIEW IS ABSORBED INTO. Like what the what?! It’s too much.

In summary, wow. Just wow.

 Hayley J., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, March 10, 2016 ................................ Will undoubtedly return!
Vivien and Michael were so lovely and accommodating. I celebrated my 30th birthday in the shed on their ranch in one of the biggest El Niño storms of the year. They were so helpful both with the set up and break down, making sure we were fully equipped with everything we needed. This is a gorgeous property- I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. We will undoubtedly return!
 Lani & Eilon, Israel - TripAdvisor, December 30, 2015  ........... Perfect location for an intimate wedding
By some miracle, while looking for a venue for our small wedding in San Francisco and Napa areas, not really knowing what I was looking for, I stumbled upon the Straus Home Ranch website and fell in love. After an email exchange with the owners, Michael and Vivien, I was left with such a great, positive feeling about both the location and them that I booked the house sight unseen. I’m from the Bay Area but live abroad so planning the wedding should have been a huge headache… but Michael and Vivien had great recommendations and were such a help, that I don’t think it could have gone more smoothly. Not only that but after arriving to CA and going out to see the house and it’s amazing location it was exactly as pictured, well even better really. We received so many compliments from our guests about what a beautiful, fun wedding it was. I’m so so happy that it all worked out and feel really lucky to have found this gem. Michael and Vivien are awesome and friendly and beyond helpful. And the house itself was so warm and cozy. We were all a bit sad to leave, but looking forward to going back at some point in the future! If you are looking for a truly special place for any kind of celebration, or just a relaxing escape, this is it.
 Rachel O., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, December 14, 2015  ......WOW! An extraordinarily special place!
The Straus Ranch Home was the ideal setting for a small celebration/retreat like weekend for our ladies getaway. Everything about our experience was comfortable, beautiful and unique… From the initial communications w/ Michael and Viven (prompt and kind) to the personal touches of the a hand-written card from Vivien Straus upon arrival to the well stocked kitchen in and modern conveniences, to the luxurious linens and bedding, and the overall heart and thoughtfulness that has been put into the home… Not to mention the cows and beautiful scenes of nature from every window! You can feel the history and heart of this place ~ It’s remarkable. Vivien’s tour of the surrounding property was the buttercream icing on the cake! We loved learning more about the history of property and the instrumental role the Straus family has played in preserving the integrity and wilderness of west Marin. We’ll be back! I would give 100 stars if I could… BEAUTIFUL!
 Matthew and Amy, Brooklyn, NY - TripAdvisor, November 23, 2015  ..........'Couldn't ask for more!'
In the search for our wedding venue, the beautiful Straus Home Ranch immediately caught our attention. After touring the gorgeous grounds with the kind and accommodating Vivien and Michael, we felt an immediate kinship to them and were completely taken by the magical setting of their Ranch. We knew without a doubt that this was the place for us. When the day came for our intimate gathering of family and friends, the beautiful surroundings proved to be the perfect place to celebrate our special day. Vivien and Michael were genuinely happy to help and be available for any questions or concerns that arose throughout the weekend. Our guests couldn’t stop talking about what a perfect event it was. From the towering eucalyptus trees, the charming interior decor, the bay-front beach–we had a wealth of incredible places to spend our weekend. We can’t imagine having our wedding anywhere else, and could not recommend this property more highly.
 Luke K., Oakland, CA - VRBO, October 8, 2015  ................................  'Wow! Perfect wedding venue!'
After extensive searching, dreaming, and scouting, my wife and I fell in love with Straus Home Ranch as a potential wedding venue. As we left after our initial visit, we loved everything about the house, the property, and the hosts. It is so beautiful…a perfect mix of rustic, cute, charming, and naturally classic. All the details are well tended to. The house is clean, and well set up for cooking, sleeping, and hanging out with 8 people.

Vivien and Michael are so helpful with everything. I couldn’t imagine better hosts. Given that we were asking to be their first wedding of our size, they were incredibly accommodating and considerate of our needs. After many visits to the farm, and much communication about the details, we had our wedding with 75 guests at the house two weekends ago. It was perfect! The weather, the lighting, the space for ceremony and reception everything was so beautiful, easy, and smooth.. I couldn’t be happier with our experience.

As a bonus, we we’re able to rent two beautiful houses directly across the road from the house for many of our wedding guests (20) to stay. They were able to take a beautiful walk to and from the house to celebrate with us without the hassle of having to drive. Everything worked out so well. Our guests loved it, we loved it…I only wish that I could do it all again!

Whether you are looking for a gorgeous and cozy place for a family get away, or a unique venue on the California coast. I highly recommend Straus Home Ranch.

 Jared F., Redwood City, CA - AirBnB, September 22, 2015  .......................  'We loved everything!'
We had our very intimate wedding here (11 guests), with most of us staying the night. This place is even more beautiful than the pictures. Outside there’s a very nice lawn and garden ares to enjoy the sun, a large table with umbrella for shucking oysters and BBQing, ocean views and two story wrap around porch. Inside the table seated 13 of us just fine, with full table settings for everybody. Interactions with the host were prompt, warm and cordial. The place was ready when we got there with no need for much back-and-forth communication before hand. Bits of the history of this place are littered throughout and really gives you a feeling of connection to the area. Despite being so close to Hwy 1, it was incredibly peaceful and quiet at night. I’d also recommend the on-site caterer, Stacy – very professional and great, local food. Whole stay was wonderful!
 Leslie D., Arlington, VA - VRBO, September 12, 2015  ..........................  'Fabulous setting for a reunion'
The Straus Home was a perfect setting for a 3-day gathering of friends and family to reconnect and relax. Gorgeous scenery, comfortable, with top notch amenities. Space allows for all sorts of gathering – BBQs, under the trees, porch with views, and living room sing-alongs. Local tourist options easy, and beach right across the street. Highly recommend the farm tour offered by Vivien and Michael – you’ll see spectacular views and get a better understanding of the history as well as challenges of living on the coast. Would also be great place for a retreat or wedding – just beautiful!
 Stacey & Alex, San Francisco, CA - VRBO, August 22, 2015  .........................  'Utterly Wonderful!'
My partner and I got married at Straus Home Ranch, spending three nights there with friends, and we never imagined how beautiful it would be, beyond even our highest expectations. Vivien and Michael were so accommodating and kind, making us feel more like guests or family friends.

The house was just stunning, well-appointed and comfortable; it’s a pretty amazing combination for a place to be so aesthetically pleasing and yet feel accessible and warm. The beds and bedding lent themselves to very sound sleep, the rooms were full of light and unique touches like wonderful paintings and small vases filed with fresh flowers, and the glorious kitchen and outdoor grill lent themselves to some very extravagant and fun meals.

The grounds were peaceful, and we loved having sightings of a fox and a bobcat, not to mention the wild turkeys that visited us on our final morning there. Waking up to Tomales Bay reflecting the morning light across the street was just lovely.

We had our ceremony on the beach across the way and held our small reception on the front lawn – it felt like a very festive garden party, with the cows emerging from the pasture to come close to the fence as the sun started to set.

And we would be remiss not to acknowledge the absolutely delicious, lusty food that Stacy Lauer prepared for our reception. Lamb kebobs skewered with rosemary; farro salad with baby kale, preserved lemons, and pecans; roasted pork tenderloin; and a cake that Stacy masterfully fashioned in the spirit of a drink we enjoyed on Kauai when we got engaged, with layers of rum-laced sponge cake, pineapple cream studded with fresh mango, and frosted with coconut buttercream. And everything was as beautiful as it was delicious.

Straus Home Ranch is the perfect place for an intimate gathering of close friends, where you can savor the peace and quiet of Tomales Bay and its surroundings, while feeling completely peaceful and at home. We hope to return at least once a year, and feel very fortunate to have discovered this perfect hideaway in time to celebrate our nuptials there.

    Brooke C., Novato, CA - VRBO, May 19, 2015  ..............................  'A wedding dream come true!'
Wow! My husband and I just got married at the Straus Home Ranch and it was the most beautiful day. We were married in the green pasture, surrounded by huge eucalyptus with a view of the bay. Everything about the property and the Straus family exceeded our expectations. The owners are the sweetest human beings we’ve ever met- they were so welcoming and accommodating to our vision. They are the kind of people you want to stay friends with forever.

We had our reception at another location, but in hindsight we really wish we had the whole thing on the Straus property. The grounds in spring are in full bloom, bright green and absolutely stunning. The house and surrounding grounds are so beautiful and relaxing, we couldn’t have dreamed up a better location. The inside of the house is equally beautiful: live edge bar and dining benches, Straus Creamery stocked fridge/freezer and timelessly designed rooms. The house is decorated and furnished with the perfect amount of minimalism – it’s my pinterest board come to life.

Perfect day, perfect house, perfect property. I would recommend the Staus Home Ranch to anyone who wants to get married in a beautiful, rustic natural setting or anyone who wants to vacation in a gorgeous place. It really is perfect.

Wedding party, San Francisco Bay Area, CA - April 19, 2015 ......................................  'Magical'
IMG_0790Dear Michael & Vivien, Thank you so much for your warmth and hospitality! This house was the heart of Brooke and Luke’s wedding weekend. The farm and the house are magical, every detail added to this experience for them and their friends and family. We are already planning to have a “Straus House Friends” anniversarY trip next year. On behalf of all of us THANKS YOU! – Debbie, Kate, Lydia, Jeff, Pete, Stephany, Clay, Rebecca & Jerry,
    Henry K., Oakland, CA - VRBO, August 5, 2014  ............................................ 'Charming and luxurious'
Threw a surprise birthday BBQ for my girlfriend here and I cannot say in words how great this home was. As stated in other reviews, this is a beautiful house situated across the street from the shore of Tomales Bay, literally looking at Hog Island. The amenities and comforts are all you might expect from a boutique hotel – charming and luxurious. It also boasts a large outdoor picnic table and propane BBQ – Perfect for hosting parties or gatherings. Additionally, it is located down the street from Hog Island and Tomales Bay Oyster Companies, therefore, oysters can be featured on whatever menu you choose during your stay. Not to mention, dealing with Vivien and Michael, the property’s caretakers and members of the Straus family dairy/farm, is an absolute pleasure. Would love to stay here again.
    David & Liz Boffey, Petaluma, CA - YELP, July 24, 2014  ........  'Absolutely gorgeous'
We had our wedding here, it was perfect for a small group (30) and the house is absolutely gorgeous. All of the guests were blown away by the place. Very comfortable inside and four bedrooms upstairs. Great place for a weekend getaway. Added to Guest book: “Thank you for opening your home so we could become a married couple. The house was gorgeous and perfect! We could not have asked for a better venue to become man and wife. We will never forget the weekend we had here, and will never be able to say enough thanks for your help putting our day together. Thank you!”

 

 

Retreats

 Photography Retreat -- Leah G., Santa Rosa, CA - VRBO, Aug 23, 2016  ....... 'Highly recommended'
Well managed and very comfortable ranch house that features four private bedrooms upstairs and a spacious common area downstairs. We used Straus Ranch for a photography workshop, and the participants loved it. Highly recommended.
 Heart to Heart -- Nilas Y., Davis, CA - VRBO, October 27, 2015  ........... Fabulous gathering place'
This is a fabulous gathering place for friends and family. The house and amenities are prefect for a casual,peaceful and joyful rendezvous that can support all forms of culinary venues. The setting is beautiful with a charming rural rustic two story home on a large gently-sloping hillside yard with moss-laden tress across from beautiful Tomales Bay. And real live cows, wild turkey and deer for viewing! Hosts Michael and Vivien were very welcoming and gracious hosts. ENJOY!!
David C., Oakland, CA - VRBO, June 22, 2015  ............................................  'Perfect for work retreat'
A small group of us rented the Straus Home for a work retreat. It was perfect for our needs – we had space to meet together, explore the grounds, and cook/share meals together. The property was in pristine condition when we arrived, with fresh milk waiting for us in the fridge. We all left with a promise to return with our own families!
GoodEggs.com -- Rachel C., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, September 22, 2014  ..... 'Absolutely perfect'
We rented the Straus Home Ranch for a retreat and it was absolutely perfect. The home has been wonderfully redone with beautiful furnishings, but it still feels cozy and comfortable. The big modern kitchen was great for preparing meals for our large group. And the gorgeous location can’t be beat! We enjoyed every moment of our stay there and would go there again in a heartbeat!!!

 

 

 

Filming

 Gigi H., San Francisco - VRBO, November 18, 2015 .........................................'Awesome place!'
We are a bunch of film students from san francisco. We spent 3 days in this fabulous ranch for filming a student short film, and few of us stayed 2 nights in stratus home. It was our pleasure to know the owner Vivien and Michael. They are just so nice and they will help you a lot when you get there. Everything will make you feel comfortable and feel at home there. They have everything in the house so you don’t need to bring too much stuffs. I just want to say I ‘m sure that I will go visit again if I have chance. Really awesome place and worthy to visit and stay for sure!!!!!!
    Film Crew., San Francisco, CA - VRBO, June 1, 2015  .................................  'A little piece of magic!'
We had the pleasure of staying on the farm for a short time. The family is so sweet and accommodating. The house was in immaculate condition. We had a photoshoot just up the hill and the property is beyond gorgeous! I would highly recommend a weekend escape to this little piece of magic. It truly felt like home away from home.
    Basho P., Portland, OR - YELP, May 15, 2015  ..................................................  'Highly recommended!'
Our film crew shot a music video for Leslie DiNicola at Straus Home Ranch in early May, 2015. Overall experience was stellar, with Michael and Vivien graciously providing excellent hospitality throughout our stay. The property itself is gorgeous, crowned by a charming farm house with updated appliances and amenities. Just a short one hour drive from our east bay production studio in Emeryville! Highly recommended! 10/10 would rent again. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

VRBO_Logoflipkey logoairbnb logo